A Day in the Life: A Beatle’s Representation of My Life’s Progression

This post is written in response to today’s Daily Post Writing Prompt, which asked participants to

“Put together a a musical playlist of songs that describe your life, including what you hope your future entails.

As the Beatles have been a part of my life for as long as I can remember, it seemed only fitting to do a Beatles theme for my life’s playlist. For your listening pleasure, my life’s mix-tape: “A Day in the Life”

Happy Birthday
I was born!! And lived my childhood as a happy and carefree little tot.

A Little Help From My Friends


“mmm I’m gonna try with a little help from my friends.”

As an angst ridden teen who hated her family and home life, I definitely only got by with a little help from my friends.

She’s Leaving Home


“She (We gave her most of our lives)
Is leaving (Sacrificed most of our lives)
Home (We gave her everything money could buy)
She’s leaving home after living alone
For so many years. Bye, bye.”

Though the song technically depicts a daughter running away, my experience leaving for college felt similar emotionally. I was excited to leave to finally be free of my family, only to realize after four years away how much I had been taking advantage of all my parents had given me throughout my life.

Paperback Writer


“And I want to be a paperback writer,
Paperback writer.
If you really like it you can have the rights,
It could make a million for you overnight,”

If not a paperback writer (which would be so awesome) I hope that after I graduate in the spring I will score some decent writing jobs. If all goes as planned, this will lead me to the career in writing that I am chasing.

When I’m 64


“When I get older losing my hair,
Many years from now.
Will you still be sending me a Valentine
Birthday greetings bottle of wine.”

I’m as much of a hopeless romantic as everybody, and when I’m 64 I do hope to have settled down and found a companion. Above all, I hope I have found happiness in whatever I have done with my life.

 

What do you think of my Beatles mix-tape? If you had to make a mix-tape to represent your life, which musician/group would you pick? 

3 thoughts on “A Day in the Life: A Beatle’s Representation of My Life’s Progression

  1. Pingback: Music Musings: Live Your Life… | Mirth and Motivation

Leave a Reply

