FridayFictioneers: Half-Moon

Copyright -Douglas M. MacIlroy

Copyright -Douglas M. MacIlroy

This post is a response to the FridayFictioneers prompt for 12/14, which asked participants to write 100 word or less flash fiction in response to the photo. Here is my story..

Half-Moon

I fumbled to mold the clay over chicken wire to create a ‘cratered effect’, but no matter how hard I tried, my moon looked like a lump.

As if on cue, my brother burst into the garage, chasing our dog. They zig-zagged through the shelves that inhabited the garage, bumping only one as they flew back inside.

Seemingly in slow motion, a single basketball rolled off the the shelf. Powerless to stop it, I watched as it bounced onto my ‘moon’, flattening half of it. I smiled to myself as I tried to salvage the remains of my science project. Now it would be a crescent.

What did you think of my take on the photo? What other things do you think the orb could be? Let me know in the comments!

11 thoughts on “FridayFictioneers: Half-Moon

  1. First of all, welcome. I could just see the basketball falling, heading inexorably toward the “moon”, (where of course it would go.) But hey, a crescent moon works, too. I saw it as a planet of sorts.

Leave a comment